Editor’s Note: Overdraft Apps provides detailed product reviews and recommendations based upon extensive research and our own hands-on testing. We may earn a referral fee when you sign up for or purchase products mentioned in this article.
Updated August 2026.
Need $20 fast? You are not alone. Millions of Americans run short before payday, and a $20 cash advance can cover gas, groceries, or an overdue bill without racking up bank overdraft fees.
We compared 11 cash advance apps to find the fastest, cheapest ways to borrow $20 right now.
Need $20 today? Start with an app we partner with. Compare the fee, then apply.
If credit is a concern, you can still get an advance with bad credit (no hard credit check) — these apps use your bank activity to decide, not Equifax.
Best Apps to Borrow $20 (2026)
| App | Max Advance | Subscription | Express Fee (~$20) | Best For | Get Started |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Up to $500 | $0/mo | $3.99 | No sub, flexible | Get MoneyLion | |
| Up to $400 | $8/mo* | $2.00 | Low express fee | Get Tilt | |
| Up to $250 | $5.99/mo | $3.99 – $9.99 | AI money coaching | Get Cleo | |
| Up to $500 | $8.99/mo | $0.99 – $3.99 | Budgeting + advances | Get Brigit | |
| Up to $200 | $0/mo | Up to $4.99 | No sub, earn points | Get Klover | |
| Up to $500 | $0/mo | $2.00 (Chime acct) | Banking + advance | Get Chime | |
| $25 to $1,000 | $0/mo | Draw fees apply | No Albert sub required | Get Albert | |
| Up to $500 | $9.99/mo | $2 – $21 | Growing limits | Get Grant | |
| Up to $750 | $0/mo | Fee (Current acct) | High max, banking | Get Current | |
| $50 – $100 | $4.99/mo* | $3.00 | Simple, small amounts | Get FloatMe | |
| $150/day | $0/mo | $3.99 | Earned wage access | Read Review |
*Free trial available. Express fees shown are for sending roughly $20 to an external bank account instantly. Standard (free) delivery typically takes 1 to 5 business days. Chime and Current deliver to their own bank accounts only. Confirm the live quote in the app before you accept.
Best App for Your Situation
Lowest Total Cost
Tilt offers a 14-day free trial, so your first $20 advance costs just the $3.00 express fee. After the trial, the $8/month subscription kicks in. EarnIn has no subscription at all, and its express fee is $3.99 for advances under $75.
No Subscription Fee
MoneyLion, Klover, and EarnIn let you borrow $20 without paying a monthly fee. You only pay the express fee if you choose instant delivery. Albert Instant also has no Albert subscription required. Draw fees apply, and funds are sent to your Albert account in minutes.
Banking + Cash Advance in One App
Chime MyPay and Current combine a free checking account with cash advances up to $500 or $750. You get your paycheck up to two days early, and the advance goes straight into your account with no external transfer needed.
How Much Does a $20 Cash Advance Cost?
The cost of borrowing $20 depends on three things: the monthly subscription (if any), the express fee for instant delivery, and optional tips (only a few apps ask). Here is what each app actually charges, ordered from lowest to highest total cost:| App | Subscription | Express Fee | Other Fees | Total Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chime MyPay | $0 | $2.00 (min) | Chime acct required | $2.00 |
| EarnIn | $0 | $3.99 | Tips optional | $3.99 |
| MoneyLion | $0 | $5.99 | Tips optional | $5.99 |
| Klover | $0 | Up to $4.99 | Points offset fees | Up to $4.99 |
| Brigit | $8.99/mo | $0.99 – $3.99 | None | $9.98 – $12.98 |
| Cleo | $5.99/mo | $3.99 – $9.99 | None | $9.98 – $15.98 |
| FloatMe* | $4.99/mo | $3.00 | None | $9.99 |
| Tilt* | $8.00/mo | $3.00 | None | $11.00 |
| Grant | $9.99/mo | $2 – $21 | None | $11.99+ |
| Albert Instant | $0 (not required) | Draw fees (est. ~$5.99 per $100) | Late fees may apply | Varies |
| Current | $0 | Not disclosed | Current acct required | Varies |
*Free trial available. Tips are always optional and excluded from totals. Confirm the live quote in the app before you accept.
Not sure which app is right for you? Our full directory compares 35+ cash advance apps with filters for fees, limits, and features.
Compare cash advance appsCash Advance App Reviews
MoneyLion Instacash: Up to $500 with No Subscription
- No monthly subscription required
- Up to $500 ($1,000 with RoarMoney)
- Multiple draws per pay period
- No credit check
- Express fee up to $8.99 for larger amounts
- External bank standard delivery takes 2-5 days
- Tips prompted (always optional)
- $10-$50 starting limit for new users
Tilt: Up to $400 with Low Express Fees
- 14-day free trial
- Clear, low express fees ($3.00 for $20)
- Free express delivery to Tilt Card
- No tips, no interest
- $8/month subscription after trial
- Must email to cancel subscription
- One advance at a time
Cleo: Up to $250 with AI Money Coaching
- AI budgeting and spending analysis
- No credit check, no interest, no tips
- Cashback offers on purchases
- App Store rating: 4.6
- $5.99/month subscription required
- Express fees up to $9.99
- Lower max ($250) vs. competitors
- FTC settlement history (2025)
Brigit: Up to $500 with Budgeting Tools
- Up to $500 advance limit
- Low express fees ($0.99-$3.99)
- Overdraft prediction and alerts
- Credit builder on Premium
- Available nationwide
- $8.99-$15.99/month subscription
- Must repay before next advance
- Must email to opt out of subscription
Klover: Up to $200 with No Subscription
- No subscription required for advances
- Points system to reduce express fees
- No credit check, no interest
- Up to $400 with point boosts
- Express fees can be high without points
- Lower starting limits ($5-$100)
- Klover+ trial auto-enrolls at signup
Chime MyPay: $0 Sub, Banking + Advance
- No subscription fee
- Free delivery within 24 hours
- Express fee is just $2 for $20
- Up to $500 limit
- Get paid up to 2 days early
- Chime account required
- Delivers to Chime only (not external banks)
- Not available in all states
- Requires qualifying direct deposits
Albert Instant: Get up to $1,0003, no Albert subscription required
Albert Instant is an unsecured line of credit. Limits range from $25 to $1,000. Few people qualify for $1,000, and most new users start much lower. No Albert subscription is required. Besides Instant, the same app includes other money tools. Those are optional and separate from Instant. Draw fees apply. Overdraft Apps estimates about $5.99 to get $100. That is our estimate, not a published Albert price list. Funds are sent to your Albert account in minutes. Instant is not available in CO, CT, IA, ME, MN, MT, NV, NJ, SD, VT, and WI. You can take $20 if that amount is within the limit Albert shows you.
- Get up to $1,000 (few qualify for the max)
- No Albert subscription required
- Funds sent to your Albert account in minutes
- $20 is within the Instant range if you qualify
- Draw fees are not published up front
- Late fees may apply
- Not available in 11 states
- Funds go to an Albert account, not a linked bank
Grant: Up to $500 with Growing Limits
- Limits grow fast with repayment history
- 98% of express transfers in under 60 seconds
- No interest, no credit check
- Up to $500 max
- $9.99/month subscription
- Express fee schedule not fully disclosed
- Not available in CT, DC, MD, NV, RI, SC, WI
Current: Up to $750 with Free Banking
- Up to $750 advance limit
- No subscription fee
- Multiple advances allowed
- Free banking with early paycheck
- Current account required
- Advances to Current only (not external banks)
- Express fee not publicly disclosed
- Requires eligible payroll deposits
FloatMe: Simple $50 Advances
- Simple and easy to use
- 7-day free trial
- No credit check, no tips
- App Store rating: 4.8
- Low max ($50 new, $100 existing)
- $4.99/month subscription after trial
- $5 express fee for $20
- Must repay before next advance
EarnIn Cash Out: Earned Wage Access up to $150/Day
- No subscription fee
- Up to $150/day, $1,000/pay period
- No credit check
- Low express fee ($3.99 for $20)
- Tips prompted (optional but persistent)
- Requires consistent employment/hours
- DC AG enforcement action filed Nov 2024
How to Borrow $20 Instantly (Step by Step)
Getting $20 through a cash advance app is quick. Here is how it typically works:- Download the app from the App Store or Google Play. Most apps are free to download.
- Create your account and link your checking account. The app needs to see your deposit history to determine your advance limit.
- Wait for approval. Some apps approve you in minutes. Others need a few days to analyze your transaction history. Most apps in this guide skip a traditional credit check. Albert Instant is a line of credit, so eligibility is shown in the app.
- Request your $20 advance. Choose how much you need (up to your approved limit) and select your delivery speed: free standard (1 to 5 business days) or instant with an express fee.
- Repay automatically. Most apps deduct your advance from your next paycheck deposit. You do not need to set reminders or make manual payments.
Compare All Cash Advance Apps
Compare fees and delivery on the cash advance apps list.
Compare cash advance appsFAQ: Borrowing $20 Instantly
How can I borrow $20 instantly?
Download a cash advance app like MoneyLion, Tilt, or EarnIn. Link your bank account, get approved (usually within minutes), and request $20. Choose express delivery to receive funds in minutes for a small fee, or pick free standard delivery (1 to 5 business days). None of the apps listed above require a credit check.
What is the best $20 cash advance app?
It depends on your situation. MoneyLion Instacash is the best all-around option with no subscription and a $3.99 express fee for about $20. Tilt offers the lowest first-time cost ($3.00 express fee during its free trial). If you already have a Chime account, MyPay delivers $20 for just $2.00. See the cash advance apps list to compare all options.
How much does a $20 cash advance cost?
The total cost ranges from about $2 to $16 depending on the app, subscription fees, and whether you choose express delivery. The cheapest express option is Tilt during its free trial ($3.00 express fee) or EarnIn ($3.99 express fee with no subscription). If you can wait for free standard delivery, MoneyLion, Klover, and EarnIn have no subscription, so the advance itself costs $0.
Can I get $20 instantly with no credit check?
Most apps in this guide skip a traditional credit check and look at bank activity, deposits, and spending instead. Albert Instant is an unsecured line of credit. Eligibility is shown in the app.
Can I get $20 for free (with no fees)?
You can get close. MoneyLion, Klover, EarnIn, and Current have no subscription fee. If you choose free standard delivery (1 to 5 business days), you pay $0 in total. Express fees only apply if you choose instant delivery. Albert Instant also has no Albert subscription required, but draw fees apply on the amount you take. Instant is not a $0 product.
How fast will $20 hit my account?
With express delivery, most apps send $20 to your bank in minutes. MoneyLion, Brigit, Tilt, and Grant all offer delivery in under an hour. Free standard delivery takes 1 to 5 business days depending on the app and whether you have the app’s own bank account.
What if I need $20 and have bad credit?
Cash advance apps do not use your credit score to approve you. Whether your credit is perfect or terrible, these apps look at your bank account history and direct deposits instead. So having bad credit does not stop you from getting a $20 advance. Just link your bank, show some deposit history, and you should be eligible with most apps.
What if I don’t have a regular job or direct deposit?
Most cash advance apps require some form of recurring income (direct deposits, gig payments, or government benefits deposited to your bank account). If you do not have any recurring deposits, your options are more limited. Klover may work for some users without traditional direct deposit. Albert Instant needs a linked bank account rather than a named payroll product, and Albert reviews that history when it sets your limit. Confirm in the app. In general, cash advance apps still need to see regular money coming into your account to approve you.
Is a $20 cash advance the same as a payday loan?
No. Payday loans charge interest (often 400%+ APR) and may check your credit. Cash advance apps charge a flat fee or subscription instead of interest, and none of them check your credit score. However, both are short-term borrowing tools meant to bridge you to your next paycheck. The CFPB has more details on payday loan costs if you want to compare.
Which apps can give me exactly $20?
The apps in this guide can fund at least $20. MoneyLion, Tilt, Cleo, Brigit, Klover, Albert Instant, Grant, EarnIn, FloatMe, and Current all let you choose $20 or customize your advance amount. Chime MyPay has a $20 minimum per draw.
How do I get $20 instantly?
Open a cash advance app, link a checking account with regular deposits, and request $20 with express delivery. MoneyLion, Tilt, and Chime MyPay can all fund $20 when you qualify. Express usually costs a few dollars. Free delivery takes 1 to 5 business days.
Can I borrow $20 dollars instantly with no credit check?
Yes. These apps look at your bank activity, not a hard credit pull. Approval still depends on deposits and account history. A $20 cash advance is a common first limit for new users.
What is a $20 cash advance, and is Spot Me $20 the same thing?
A $20 cash advance is a short-term app advance you repay on your next payday. “Spot me $20” is the same job: cover a small gap until payday. Chime MyPay can cover small amounts if you already bank with Chime. If you do not have Chime, start with MoneyLion or Tilt.
Related Cash Advance Guides
- How to Borrow $25 Instantly
- How to Borrow $40 Instantly
- How to Borrow $100 Instantly
- How to Borrow $500 Instantly
- Tilt Cash Advance Review
- EarnIn Cash Out Review
- Rent now pay later apps if the $20 hole is really a rent timing problem
For smaller advances, see our FloatMe review and Money App review, or see the cash advance apps list.
Smaller-dollar options we cover in depth: Rocco, Cashli, FrontPay, and True Finance.
Need more than a few hundred dollars?
- Bigger loans, not tiny advances. Cash advance apps top out fast — PockBox helps you search personal loan offers that often start above $500.
- Any credit score welcome. Compare options from lenders that work with excellent, fair, and poor credit (approval and terms always depend on the lender).
- Free to shop around. Checking rates does not lock you into a loan — compare side by side, then decide.
Need a larger same-day amount? See how to get a $255 payday loan online same day (or better cash advance alternatives in California).
- Albert Instant is an unsecured line of credit issued by FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered bank, Member FDIC. Limits range from $25–$1,000. Draw fees apply. No Albert subscription required. Terms and eligibility criteria including geographic restrictions apply.
- Subject to eligibility. Amounts range from $20-$250, and $20-$100 for first time users. Amounts subject to change. Same day transfers subject to express fees.
- Albert Instant is an unsecured line of credit issued by FinWise Bank, a Utah chartered bank, Member FDIC. Limits range from $25–$1,000. Draw fees apply. No Albert subscription required. Terms and eligibility criteria including geographic restrictions apply.